## <u>Almeria Bowling Club</u>





Men's Winner Ken Richardson

Ladies Winner Siobhan Herrity

## **2017 Dyer Cup and Appleby Vase Report** (Club Men's and Ladies Single Championship)

The **Dyer Cup and the Appleby Vase,** Men Singles commenced on Thursday  $2^{nd}$  with preliminary rounds, followed by both men and ladies s singles on Friday  $3^{rd}$  reaching the Semis on Sunday morning of 5th February. Unfortunately, as the weather was very, very windy the finals were re-scheduled for Wednesday morning the  $8^{th}$  February.

The **Club Singles Champions** in the Ladies Final, **Appleby Vase** was Siobhan Herrity over Mandy Harris with Ken Richardson winning over John Fitzgerald in the Men's Final, **Dyer Cup**.

**Appleby Vase Final** – Although both finalists played well to reach this stage the final was a disappointment for our new, but very capable Mandy Harris, who found it difficult to contain the onslaught of Siobhan Herrity winning comfortably. Siobhan had beaten last year's winner Sylvia Pritchard and Mandy beat Christine Parkinson, last year's finalist to get to the final.

**Dyer Cup Final** – On paper it was going to be a tough game with both players giving strong quality performances in the early rounds. This was a steady start for both players with the scores very close with Ken Richardson a couple of points ahead. Ken continued pressurizing cool and calm, John Fitzgerald. John however fought well but couldn't get ahead with Ken winning with a credible 21-16.

All in all, the five days went well, with the excellent standard of play by all. John Fitzgerald, our Captain, thanked everyone who had played and supported the various games, the markers who without the competition couldn't take place, Jim Pike and Bryan Hughes who did a grand job caring for the carpet despite bad weather conditions and finally Colin Wright for umpiring the final.. Tony Lear then presented the trophies and photographs were taken This report with photographs will be found on <u>www.bowlingalmeria.com</u>

Vic Parsons ALBC Deputy Chairman &Press Officer