

2017 CAA Ladies & Men's Pairs Finals

This year it has been very difficult to arrange the Finals. The Men's competition started 27th November, Ladies 1st December, bad weather in December and full bowling calendar prevented the finals taking place; they were finally played on 10th February, thanks to Chris Ivin and the Ladies Charity team kindly moving their fixture date.

Men's Final results: 24-10

John Fitzgerald & Bryan Thompson (ALBC) v Alan DeBoer & (John Dedman (IBC)

Ladies Final results: 16-15

Mo DeBoer & Doreen Hall (IBC) v Sylvia Pritchard & Pat Deacon (ALBC)

Men's Final

This was expected to be a close game with excellent quality of play in the early rounds from all finalists. But this was to be ALBC's day as they never let IBC get started. There was an exciting fight back when the ALBC pairing did not score for five ends, the IBC pairing were then only two shots behind. ALBC then lifted their game, in the end winning comfortably.

Ladies Final

This was an epic battle of the highest quality with all finalists playing great bowls. There was nothing in it for eight ends with the score at seventh end, IBC 6 ALBC 5. The Indalo pairing continued to increase their score with ALBC fighting hard drawing level on 13th end at 10-10. The ALBC pair needed 6 shots on the 18 end to make a play off.

Lots of excitement as they nearly pulled it off, holding 6, but the IBC skip Mo DeBoer drew a devastating bowl to seal IBC's victory and become the Pairs Champions 2017.

After the competition, Tony Lear thanked Colin Wright Umpire, the supporters and all the players who made the competition such a success he then presented the trophy to the winners

Vic Parsons CAA Press Secretary